Marry someone you love more, or marry someone who loves you more?

imageValentine’s Day is fast approaching, and today, I ponder the question, “Do you marry someone whom you love more, or marry someone who loves you more?”

Over breakfast, I asked my husband this question and he readily admitted that I love him more. No hesitation. While I secretly was hoping he would say that he loved me more, I cannot say that I was surprised by his candid response. I know his likes, dislikes. I always give him the bigger portion of our favorite meals, I buy his favorite foods, I call him every morning from work, I worry that he gets cold at work . In other words, I always think about him whether I am at work or when I shop, picking up little things I know he would enjoy. I  cannot say he does the same for me, but he does so many other things that I appreciate. My husband  gives me a lot of latitude, which is huge in my culture.

Every woman, wife, girlfriend wants some romance in a relationship, and above all, to be loved. I do not have the romance, but I have his love and protection. I believe that I married the love of my life, so it matters not that I love my husband more than he loves me.  All that is important is that he loves me. Readers, how would you respond to the question?

3 thoughts on “Marry someone you love more, or marry someone who loves you more?

  1. Pingback: Marry someone you love more, or marry someone who loves you more? « misselizamoua

  2. You know its funny you write about this topic. Over the last 2 years I have watched Leng and your interactions and seen his admiration for you grow so much. I kept thinking.. wow after all these years and after 4 kids those two still have this amazing spark. He really loves her.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 269 other followers

